RCB vs KKR IPL 2024: Live updates, score, result, highlights as KKR beat RCB by 7 wickets | Sporting News Australia

Posted by

Match 10 of IPL 2024 saw a heavyweight clash between Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Friday, March 29.

The visitors emerged victors, as Sunil Narine and Venkatesh Iyer cruised KKR to a seven-wicket victory. Despite Virat Kohli’s heroics, Bengaluru emerged second-best at home, losing their second game of the season.

Kolkata Knight Riders are second on the points table, courtesy of a heroic win away from home. KKR continue their unbeaten streak, after the impressive start to their campaign.

BET NOW: Exclusive sign-up offers and bonuses when you bet on IPL action

Here is the live blog of the match, just in case you missed the encounter at the Chinnaswamy.

RCB vs KKR: Live Updates

10:48 PM- KKR BEAT RCB BY 7 WICKETS! The Shreyas Iyer-led side become the first team to win a match away from home in IPL 2024. And what a way to beat their arch-rivals, in their own backyard! A resounding victory for KKR sees them climb up to second on the points table, as RCB struggle after two losses in their first three games. KKR 186/3 in 16.5 overs (Shreyas 39*, Rinku Singh 5*).

10:37 PM- WICKET! After all the damage already done, RCB get some consolation in the form of a wicket. Venky Iyer, who just got to his half-century (50 off 30 balls), gives away his wicket to Yash Dayal, in a soft dismissal. The southpaw, nevertheless, does his job before returning back to the pavilion. Yash Dayal gets his first of the night, as Rinku Singh walks out to bat. KKR 167/3 in 15.1 overs (Shreyas 26*, Rinku Singh 0*).

10:10 PM- The visitors are 112-2 at the halfway stage, well above the required run rate at the start of the innings. Barring any collapses, KKR are on their way to become the first team to win a match away from home in IPL 2024. The KKR openers have provided a solid foundation, despite RCB’s consolation of a comeback after the powerplay. KKR 112/2 in 10 overs (Shreyas 11*, Venkatesh Iyer 12*).

9:59 PM- WICKET! RCB gets two in two overs, as Vijaykumar Vyshak dismisses of another set batsman, in Phil Salt. Salt, who remained off strike after the initial overs, gave away his wicket soon after Narine’s dismissal. KKR 93/2 in 8 overs (Shreyas 2*, Venkatesh Iyer 5*).

Shreyas Iyer comes to the middle.

9:54 PM- WICKET! That’s the end of a blistering innings from Sunil Narine. The Windies all-rounder does the job with the bat, in his 500th T20 game. What an icon of the sport! The strategic timeout does the trick for RCB, as Mayank Dagar strikes in his first over. The youngster is ecstatic with the wicket, and celebrates with a roar. KKR 89/1 in 7 overs (Salt 29*, Venkatesh Iyer 3).

Venkatesh Iyer comes to the middle.

9:49 PM- Sunil Narine gets into the act, as he smashes 25 off the final over of the powerplay. The KKR openers are applying ‘salt’ over the wounds of the Royal Challengers Bangalore. KKR are 24 runs ahead of where RCB were at the same stage of their innings. It is a long way back for RCB from here. KKR 85/0 in 6.0 overs (Phil Salt 28*, Narine 47*).

9:39 PM- The KKR openers are batting as if their lives depend on it. Both Salt and Narine have taken the RCB spearheads to the cleaners, and over the ropes. The home side find themselves struggling early on in their target defence, as fifty-run mark is breached in under four overs. KKR 53/0 in 4.0 overs (Phil Salt 25*, Narine 22*).

9:15 PM- We’re here for the run-chase. Sunil Narine is handed the opening responsibilities, as Gautam Gambhir tries to maximise the aggression from KKR during the power play. KKR’s new man up front, Phil Salt is Narine’s partner-in-crime at the Chinnaswamy. Hold your seats for a blockbuster second half! KKR 0/0 in 0.1 overs (Phil Salt 0*, Narine 0*).

9:05 PM- So, that’s the end of the innings. Kohli has batted through, remaining not out on 83. A couple of overs in the middle looked hairy for them, but in the end 182 is a decent total that isn’t quite as flat as it seems. It’s still not easy to defend against this KKR lineup, but it’s a solid effort. 182/6 in 20 overs (Kohli 83*, Karthik 20*).

8:51 PM- WICKET! That’s the end of Anuj Rawat. Full delivery outside the off stump from Rana, a booming drive takes the edge and it’s a straightforward catch for Phil Salt. RCB 144/4 in 16.3 overs (Kohli 72*, Rawat 3).

Dinesh Karthik comes to the middle.

8:46 PM- WICKET! Another one for Russell! Patidar takes him on, but this one is into the pitch and slower. It goes straight down the throat of the man at midwicket. RCB 144/4 in 16.3 overs (Kohli 68*, Patidar 3).

The new batter is Anuj Rawat.

8:32 PM- WICKET! Narine dropped Maxwell last over, but gets him now! It’s a short delivery, and the Aussie tries to carve it over point but just picks out the man in the deep. RCB 125/3 in 14.1 overs (Kohli 53*, Maxwell 28).

Rajat Patidar comes to the crease.

8:09 PM- WICKET! Russell can do no wrong! Gets pumped over square leg by Green, but hits back instantly. Homing in on the leg stump, it deflects off the Australian’s pad and rattles the stumps. RCB 82/2 in 9 overs (Kohli 40*, Green 33).

In comes Glenn Maxwell.

7:55 PM- End of the Powerplay. Kohli has gone after Mitchell Starc, but KKR have reigned in the scoring just a touch with the introduction of spin. A fairly even phase of play on a high-scoring ground, you have to say. RCB 61/1 in 6 overs (Kohli 28*, Green 24*).

7:41 PM- WICKET! Du Plessis had just ramped Harshit Rana for six, and he tries to go for two in a row. But it’s the slower ball this time, and the ball just lobs up for a simple catch to Starc at fine leg. RCB 17/1 in 2 overs (Kohli 8*, du Plessis 8).

Cameron Green is the new batter.

7:30 PM- Here we go for the first ball of this clash. Virat Kohli on strike, facing up to Mitchell Starc. Full on off stump, runs it off the open face past third for four! RCB 4/0 in 0.1 overs (Kohli 4*, du Plessis 0*).

RCB vs KKR: Toss

The toss is expected to play a crucial role in determining the course of the game. Given the favourable batting conditions anticipated at the venue, the side winning the toss could opt to chase so they have a good idea of the score required.

Shreyas Iyer has won the toss and KKR will field first.

RCB vs KKR: Confirmed Lineups

Royal Challengers Bengaluru Confirmed Playing XI:

Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal.

Kolkata Knight Riders Confirmed Playing XI:

Phil Salt, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer, Ramandeep Singh, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Mitchell Starc, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy.

RCB vs KKR: Head-to-head

Wins Batting 1st 3 9
Wins Chasing 11 9
Highest Total 213 222
Lowest Total 49 82
Highest Successful Chase 186 206
Lowest Total Defended 194 131
Most Runs Virat Kohli (861 runs) Gautam Gambhir (530 runs)
Highest scorer Chris Gayle (102*) Brendan McCullum (158*)
Most wickets Yuzvendra Chahal (19) Sunil Narine (23)
Best Bowling Wanindu Hasaranga (4/20) Varun Chakraborty (4/15)

Which TV channels will broadcast the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) match?

The Star Sports channels and Star Network will be broadcasting the RCB vs KKR game on television across different languages.

Match Channels
Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Kolkata Knight Riders Star Sports 1 (English), Stars Sports 1 Hindi, Star Sports 1 Kannada, Star Sports 1 Telugu, Star Sports 1 Tamil, Pravah Picture (Marathi), Asianet Plus (Malayalam)

How to live stream the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) IPL 2024 match?

JioCinema app and website will live stream the match between RCB vs KKR online for free.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *